Scroll to navigation

SYSLOG(8) System Logging SYSLOG(8)


syslog - the system logging service


There are different syslog daemon implementations supported as the system's syslog service, currently: syslogd, rsyslogd, syslog-ng.

It depends on the software selection during the installation which daemon is installed as default.

Each syslog-daemon provides an own service file, that is: syslogd.service, rsyslogd.service, syslog-ng.service.

Only one syslog-daemon can be installed, it activates itself as the syslog service by creating the syslog.service alias, a common name to start/stop, query status and reload the daemon while log rotation.

The /etc/sysconfig/syslog file contains several variables allowing to specify additional settings, such as start parameters for the daemon or additional chroot log sockets. The yast2 sysconfig module provides a comfortable way to change these settings.

Starting with openSUSE-12.3, the SYSLOG_DAEMON variable, which was used to select the daemon before, has been removed. Also the SYSLOG_REQUIRES_NETWORK has been removed and each daemon declares in its service file whether the network will be started before syslog or not.


Please report bugs at <>


Juergen Weigert <>
Dr. Werner Fink <>
Marius Tomaschewski <>


sysklogd(8) syslogd(8) syslog.conf(5) syslog-ng(8) syslog-ng.conf(5) rsyslogd(8) rsyslog.conf(5)

May 2008 syslog